A.N.Z.A.C Poem

ANZAC Day is a national holiday in Australia. We commemorate the soldiers that went to war and be grateful that we weren’t there.
Here is a poem I wrote from the point of view of an A.N.Z.A.C soldier.
I understand that war is bad now.
I say “Don’t worry we’ll survive.” to another soldier.
I dream to see my family again.
I try to save as many people as possible but I can’t save as many as I would like to.
I hope I don’t die here.
I pretend it’s going to be okay.
I feel sad because lots of people around me are dying.
I touch dead bodies that are scattered around me.
I worry that I might die here.
I cry because I can’t believe how many people have already died.
I hear guns shooting ang bombs exploding.
I see dead men lying in the dirt.
I want to go home.
I wonder what would have happened to me if I hadn’t come here.
I am an ANZAC soldier.
 
 
 
 

One thought on “A.N.Z.A.C Poem

  1. To Paig
    It was relly good great gob. When I read that I nelly start to sing. It was entertaining and fun to read! Your poem must of tacking lots of time and hard work. My favourite part was when you wrot “I fell sad because lots of people around me are dying.” That part made me feel a little sad. I think your post was excellent because you wrote a fantastic poem.
    From Isobel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *